News Releases

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

City of Suwanee Names its 2018 Suwanee Youth Leaders Class

Post Date:03/16/2018 11:46 AM

The City of Suwanee has named the members of its fifth Suwanee Youth Leaders (SYL) class for the year 2018. These students were chosen based on a combination of the strength of application, feedback from a student-led selection committee made up of recent SYL graduates, recommendations from teachers and school administrators, academic performance, and extracurricular resume. 

SYL is an eight-month leadership program for high school sophomores and juniors who live within the North Gwinnett, Peachtree Ridge, or Collins Hills cluster districts. Participants gain genuine exposure to local initiatives and community and civic leaders, while also allowing the City to engage with youth providing a strong voice and active role in planning the City’s success.

Suwanee Youth Leaders recently won a Southeast Festivals and Events Association Bronze Kaleidoscope Award for Most Creative Idea for collaboration with Suwanee Fest. SYL also won an Atlanta Regional Commission 2016 CREATE Community Award in the category of Educational Excellence.

“The Suwanee Youth Leaders program allows the City to make a genuine commitment to the youth in our community,” said Suwanee Downtown Business & Development Manager Adam Edge, a co-leader of the program. “While it’s an honor to win awards, it’s an even greater reward to see kids becoming invested in their community through this initiative.”

Thanks to SYL, said Assistant City Manager Denise Brinson, “We now have a group of young people who have more knowledge of their community and how local government works and the work that goes into building community. The City wanted to develop a real connection with our schools and find a way to meaningfully encourage youth involvement as prescribed in our strategic plan – not just checking a box, but building sincere, authentic relationships.”

Congratulations to the Suwanee Youth Leaders Class of 2018

Vishnu Achar                      North Gwinnett

Kyle Adams                         Peachtree Ridge

Micayla Aduhene               Peachtree Ridge

Anna Andani                      Collins Hill

Alice Ao                                Peachtree Ridge

William Ao                          Peachtree Ridge

Sterlane Bazile                   Peachtree Ridge

Eyosiyas Binyam               Collins Hill

Steven Bligh                       North Gwinnett

Ally Brooks                          North Gwinnett

Milan Broughton              Collins Hill

Andrew Chen                    Peachtree Ridge

Max Choi                             Collins Hill

Thomas Cook                     North Gwinnett

Adam Cooper                    North Gwinnett

Hudson Craft                      North Gwinnett

Abby Creamer                   North Gwinnett

Garrett Cutchin                 Mill Springs Academy

William Dent                      North Gwinnett

Gautum Desai                    Gwinnett School of Math, Science, & Technology

Marlaina Eastman            Peachtree Ridge

Halston Edwards              Peachtree Ridge

Andoni Fernandez           North Gwinnett

Madeline Franz                 North Gwinnett

Riley Grube                        North Gwinnett

Lauren Hill                           Wesleyan School

Caroline Izaguuirre          North Gwinnett

Arman Jalalian                   North Gwinnett

Roshen Jegajeevan         North Gwinnett

Johaer Jilani                        Collins Hill

Blaine Kantor                     North Gwinnett

Ethan Keairnes                  North Gwinnett

Da Kim                                  Gwinnett School of Math, Science, & Technology

Roksana Klasa                    Peachtree Ridge

Liah Land                             Peachtree Ridge

Nicole Landry                     Peachtree Ridge

Erich Langstine                  Peachtree Ridge

Sarah Larkin                        North Gwinnett

Daniel J. Lee                       Peachtree Ridge

Jin Wuk Lee                        Gwinnett School of Math, Science, & Technology

Jordyn Lewis                      Peachtree Ridge

Savannah Luney               North Gwinnett

Connor Maguire               Collins Hill

Matthew McCrary           North Gwinnett

Matthew McCutcheon  North Gwinnett

Jack McGill                          North Gwinnett

Khushi Mehta                    North Gwinnett

Patrick Mock                      Peachtree Ridge

Pranav Muthukrishnan  North Gwinnett

Caitlin O’Farrell                 North Gwinnett

Rhea Pandit                        Gwinnett School of Math, Science, & Technology

Jenny Park                          Peachtree Ridge

Sunny Patel                        North Gwinnett

Aashka Patel                      North Gwinnett

Austin Reitano                   North Gwinnett

Savannah Richard             North Gwinnett

Alexander Shin                  Gwinnett School of Math, Science, & Technology

McKinsey Shorter            Collins Hill

Ayanna Smith                    Collins Hill

Caitlin Tunstill                    North Gwinnett

Natalie Tyndall                  Peachtree Ridge

Chiamaka Uwagerikpe   North Gwinnett

Abigail Ventimiglia           North Gwinnett

Jackson Wegmet              North Gwinnett

Alexis Wilmot                     North Gwinnett

Taylor Wilmot                    North Gwinnett

Alyssa Yam                          North Gwinnett

Petros Yemane                 North Gwinnett

Joanna Yonathan              Peachtree Ridge

Return to full list >>